Skip navigation
 Renewal EIS  |  Getting Involved  |  TAPS Guide  |  EIS Documents
  News  |  FAQ  |  Glossary  |  EIS Newsletter  

How TAPS is Managed

TAPS is owned by six pipeline companies, operated and maintained by the Alyeska Pipeline Service Company, and regulated by federal and state agencies through the Joint Pipeline Office.

TAPS Ownership

TAPS is owned by a consortium of six pipeline companies:

TAPS Management

The Alyeska Pipeline Service Company was established in 1970 and was responsible for design and construction of TAPS. Currently Alyeska operates and maintains TAPS for the owner companies.

Alyeska has its headquarters in Anchorage, and also maintains operations in Fairbanks and Valdez. The company employs almost 900 people statewide, with about 1300 more people employed by independent contractors working for the company.

Regulatory Oversight of TAPS

Federal and state governments cooperatively oversee TAPS and administer the federal and state rights-of-way terms and conditions through the Joint Pipeline Office (JPO).

The JPO, a consortium of state and federal agencies, regulates TAPS and other Alaskan oil and gas pipelines. JPO was established in July 1990 to provide a co-located and coordinated oversight of design, construction, operations, and maintenance of all common carrier pipelines in Alaska, including TAPS.

JPO includes the following state and federal Agencies:

State Agencies

  • Department of Natural Resources*
  • Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Department of Fish and Game
  • Department of Labor
  • Division of Governmental Coordination
  • Department of Transportation/Public Facilities
  • Department of Public Safety

Federal Agencies

  • Bureau of Land Management*
  • Department of Transportation/Office of Pipeline Safety
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Minerals Management Service
  • U.S. Coast Guard
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
* co-lead agency

Privacy/Security  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Site Index